Mood Swinging Monster

MOOD SWINGING MONSTER

david-vs-goliath

Yesterday when I reached home after work, I was very tired. The thought of going for my daily vigorous walk for an hour made me feel miserable. I felt that I should not go as my body needed rest. My mind kept on taunting me that I should go because even with all the tiredness, I could still make an effort and go for my walk.

I switched on the TV and watched the news for about 15 minutes to divert my mind and then decided that come what may, I would not miss this daily routine. Soon I got ready and stepped out of my house towards the Formal Park in Abu Dhabi which is my walking tract.

Every day, I try to challenge myself by increasing the number of rounds of the walking distance and yesterday I increased it by two rounds. As I felt the sweat running down my T-Shirt, I felt happy and soon I realized the truth in the profound quote by the great Pearl Buck “I don’t wait for moods. You accomplish nothing if you do that. Your mind must know it has got to get down to work.”

Mood swings are probably the worst enemies in achieving consistency in any work or activity that one undertakes and the only way to tackle mood swings is to force one self to get down to work. I know it is never easy but it has to be done if one has to achieve something worthwhile in life. Every notable achievement is a result of controlling those monstrous mood swings on a day to day basis.

The Mood Swinging Monster can appear like a Goliath before you time and again but you as David can destroy it always by the sling of your determination and steadfastness of purpose.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

